1. University of Virginia
  2. Arts & Sciences

Department News & Events

Emily Ogden to receive Cory Family Teaching Award
Saturday, May 23, 2015

Professor Emily Ogden has been given the Cory Family Teaching Award for her "dedicated and innovative teaching of courses in English. The award comes with a $25,000 cash bonus," and she will be honored at Fall Convocation on Friday, October 23, 2015, at 2:00 in the John Paul Jones Arena.

Congratulations to our English majors
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

The English Department has awarded its annual departmental scholarships to the following excellent undergraduate majors:

Michael Wagenheim Memorial Scholarship: Elizabeth Ballou, Kelsey Becker, Vanessa Braganza, Daniel Calem, Caelainn Carney, Zoey Dorman, Alexa Hazel, Claudia Heath, Andrea Mendoza Perez, and Alex Scheinman.

Peter and Phyllis Pruden Scholarship: Emily Blase, Hillary Hylton, Charlie Micah Jones, Christine Kim, and Tanner Pruitt.

William and Charlotte Savage Scholarship: Erik Moyer, Christina Paek, and Melanie Schmidt.

In addition, this year's new Phi Beta Kappa class included the following students from English: Forrest Brown, Nader Ahmed, Therese Codd, Matthew Diem, Shane Dutta, Ashley Shamblin, Alexandra Tilley, and Joanna Currey.

These students and many other undergrads and grads were recognized for their achievements at the English Department Awards Ceremony last Friday.



Lisa Woolfork awarded All-University Teaching Award
Sunday, April 26, 2015

Professor Lisa Woolfork has been awarded an All-University Teaching Award for her creative and rigorous commitment to student learning. She received her award alongside other teachers at a ceremony last Wednesday. Read more about the award and reflections on Professor Woolfork's teaching at UVA Today.

Professor Alison Booth receives major NEH grant
Friday, April 10, 2015

Alison Booth has received a highly competitive Level-II Startup Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Office of Digital Humanities, to support a project entitled Cohorts of Women in Biographical Collections (CWBC). Beginning in 2015, CWBC builds upon the common ground of Booth’s ongoing experiments on biographical narratives and networks documented in 1200 biographical collections published since 1830, in the Collective Biographies of Women bibliography and database (CBW), and Daniel Pitti’s Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC), which mines 2.6 million archival descriptions in 3,000 repositories (and growing). CWBC sustains Booth’s collaboration with Worthy Martin, Director of the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, and Project Manager Rennie Mapp, Lecturer in English, with a distinguished international advisory board. The project will improve the biographical records of women in many contexts, model biographical-archival data exchange, and create Cohort Analysis Prototype (CAP), a tool widely useful for sharing and maintaining unique biographical records and visualizing textual, archival, and social cohorts and networks.

Read more about the NEH grants at their website here.

Lisa Russ Spaar selected finalist for national Cherry Award for Great Teaching
Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Professor Lisa Russ Spaar has been selected as one of three finalists for Baylor University's 2016 Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching, the only national teaching award presented by a college or university to an individual for exceptional teaching.

As Cherry Award finalists, each professor will receive $15,000, as well as $10,000 for their home departments to foster the development of teaching skills. Each finalist will present a series of lectures at Baylor during fall 2015 and also a Cherry Award lecture on their home campuses during the upcoming academic year. The eventual Cherry Award winner will receive $250,000 and an additional $25,000 for her home department and will teach in residence at Baylor during fall 2016 or spring 2017.

Professor Spaar adds this award to her other numerous recognitions for outstanding teaching, including a Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Award for 2013-15, the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia’s Outstanding Faculty Award in 2010, and a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2009.

Read more about Professor Spaar and the award at UVA Today and Baylor's Media Communications page.